

Trans-Caledon Tunnel Authority (TCTA)

WSP3 (LHWP)	ZAG000019993
WSP4 (LHWP)	ZAG000020009
WSP5 (LHWP)	ZAG000020017

EXTENSION OF THE TERM OF THE BOARD TO 30 APRIL 2019

Background

In terms of TCTA's Notice of Establishment (Notice 277, Government Gazette 21017 of 24 March 2000), the Minister of Water and Sanitation appoints non-executive members of TCTA's board (directors appointed in terms of clause 5(1)(a) of the Notice of Establishment) for a term of three years. The current term of the board started on 1 December 2015, ended on 30 November 2018 and was extended to 28 February 2019.

The CEO, is also member of the board (in terms of clause 5(1)(b)), but is appointed by the board, with the concurrence of the Minister as per clause 17(1) of the Notice of Establishment.

This announcement only refers to the non-executive board members and not to the CEO.

Further extension of the Term of the Board to 30 April 2019

As per Clause 8 (*Terms of Office*) of the Notice of Establishment the Minister has elected to extend the term of the current board by a further 2 (two) months to 30 April 2019. This is to allow the Department of Water and Sanitation and the Minister time to apply their minds to the consideration of the candidates for the new board that have been submitted to the Minister.

The Board will thus remain as currently constituted:

Chairperson: Ms. Zodwa Manase	BCom (UNISA); B Compt (Hons) (UNISA); HDipTax (KwaZulu Natal)
Deputy Chairperson: Mr. Jacob Modise	BCom, BAcc (Wits), CA(SA); MBA (Wits); AMP (Stanford) AMP (Harvard)
CEO: Mr. Percy Sechemane	BCom, MBA (NWU)
Dr. Michael Ellman	BSc (Hons) (Chem Eng) (UCT); MSc (ChemEng) (Netherlands); ENSIC; MBA (Wits)
Mr Satish Roopa	B.Juris, LLB (UNISA); M.Phill (Stell); Cert in Executive programme for Leaders in Government (Harvard); Cert in Negotiating International Contracts & Development Finance (UCT); Cert in Transformation of Institutes of Higher Education (Stell)
Mr. Simphiwe Kondlo	NDip Civil Eng (DUT); BSc Agric. Eng (KwaZulu Natal); Masters in Engineering Management (Pretoria)
Ms. Sijabulile Makhathini	BCom (Wits); Dip in Accounting Science (Unisa); BCompt (Unisa); CA(SA)
Ms. Tshepiso Moahloli	BSc; BA(Hons)(Economics); MA Economic Science)(Wits)
Mr. Muziwandile Chonco	BSc (Hons)(Hydrogeology)(UWC), PDBA; MBA (GIBS)

25 February 2019 For further information please contact Nyiko Mageza, TCTA Sponsor +27 12 683 1334